Dwarven Forge Dungeon Tiles (Kickstarter)

Everyone who’s anyone who is a gamer knows at least something about Dwarven Forge, that is a given. They make the most excellent pre-painted, pre-assembled terrain out there for wargaming and RPGs. If you own Dwarven Forge products then you, as they say on the IntarWebTubes, are among the elite. This is due to the fact that Dwarven Forge products are expensive (but worth it!) for your average gamer. More recently, Dwarven Forge organized a Kickstarter for their new “Modular Dungeon Tiles” product line.

Kickstarter, for those of you who have been living under a rock, is the best place to get your ideas off the ground if you are a person with an idea. More on that at Kickstarter, there are obviously risks to backing certain projects but for large companies like Dwarven Forge the risk is slim to none because big companies don’t want to hurt their names.

Dwarven Forge Kickstarter (Closed)
Reaper Miniatures Bones II Kickstarter (Currently Active) – Just throwing this out there for advertisement, this is an excellent deal as well. The first Kickstarter produced some excellent minis that my group and I use regularly.
Dwarven Forge Modular Dungeon Tiles – These are currently available for purchase on the Dwarven Forge site, though a good number of the items are out of stock. (And for good reason!)

Image
D
ISCLAIMER: More than one set and set of accessories is shown!

As you can see above I have built my first structure using the modular tiles. The above is from my regular gaming group’s current predicament, the Mansion of Vander Sarnikov. (Ignore the MageKnight Dungeons terrain scattered about, I was just doing a size comparison). The first run of these tiles was a huge success, my group had a lot of fun scouring the house for forgotten goodies and killing the defenders left by the archmage that built the place.

The tiles themselves are durable, more than that, they are nigh-indestructible considering I let my 3 year old daughter help me build the house. (More later on the little stuffed kitten that ended up in the servant’s quarters.) The painted set is beautiful, the detail is quite choice and the variety of tiles available makes it worth the effort to get at least one set of each available tile set in the line. They fit well with 25/28 mm miniatures and most of the tiles are made in a 2×2 manner so they all fit together like a puzzle. All-in-all I would have bought more sets had I been able to afford it, but as it is I expect my group to get some serious use out of these tiles.

My thoughts: Buy them, buy all the tiles!

Here are some sample images:

IMG_0183

IMG_0168

IMG_0169

IMG_0170

IMG_0171

IMG_0172

IMG_0173

IMG_0174

IMG_0175

IMG_0176

IMG_0177

IMG_0178

IMG_0179

IMG_0180

IMG_0181

IMG_0182

~ by lordnightwinter on October 13, 2013.

2 Responses to “Dwarven Forge Dungeon Tiles (Kickstarter)”

  1. Hi, I need 4×4 and 8×8 flooring squares that look like wood flooring for an inn! I have all the other parts including tables, bar, etc.

    • This particular product is different from their original terrain. This is all modular but I don’t think they’ve done a wooden set yet. I missed out on the caverns stuff because I didn’t have the cash. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
