Pathfinder: Racial Profiling

We’ve all had those guys in our party, the one that wants to play a celestial half-troll bard. It happens, even I’ve indulged in the occasional drow elf character (No scimitars or niceties, he was a right bastard). What I’d like to talk about though are the oddball races and building your own race.

One of the nice things about the Pathfinder books I’ve invested in is the Advanced Race Guide, it’s quite nice. There’s a lot of info and extra rules available for both existing races and some new and old races. If you want to play a humanoid frog, Grippli, if you want to play an elemental race, they have one for each element. Personally I am big on customization, I like my players to have choices as long as they don’t go overboard and do something too strange.

Another plus for this book is that it gives very in depth detail on designing your own race, which is good considering that my players are currently running in a homebrew world. The very same world that my unpublished novel is based in. They are, as we speak, writing canon. Every session they go through, everything they succeed and fail at will affect my third and possibly forth book. I’m not even done with book 2 yet.

So my next feat will be designing the races that exist in my homebrew world in Pathfinder. We’ll see how this works.

~ by lordnightwinter on January 25, 2013.

2 Responses to “Pathfinder: Racial Profiling”

  1. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one doing this.
    I play in a world of my own make.
    The thing that annoys me the most is when a player wants to play something like a… Kobold. Had a group that always had someone wanting to be a Kobold.
    How can I create a masterful story around a party who doesn’t roleplay and the Kobold does most of the talking.
    It always seems to be the “Face of the party” that wants to play the really strange races.
    Am I right?

    • I always find a way around that. Honestly a Kobold is not as bad as a half-troll celestial, a half-orc/halfling, a ghost that works like a human, a brain in a jar, a racist paladin, or (my personal favorite) a mexican frog with a moustache and two pistols. I’ve had so many odd character requests.

Leave a Reply

 
