Pathfinding with Pathfinder

I am no stranger to the D20 system. My shelf is, literally, sagging with RPG books and a good number of them are Dungeons and Dragons with an even larger subset of those being of the D20 system. This love of systems started with version 3 of D&D. Version 3 was great but it had its problems. 3.5 streamlined and balanced that. From 3.5 sprang D20 Modern and from that sprang a good number of books, systems, suppliments, and games from not only Wizards of the Coast, but other companies. The best thing about the D20 system was how open it was, how freely people could use the system with the SRD or System Refrence Documents. I miss that in 4th Edition, it’s one of my biggest beefs.

On to the real intent of this post. Most recently I’ve decided to try out Pathfinder. Now Pathfinder has been touted as 3.75 the edition that fixed 3.5 and honestly I am quite happy to say I agree. There was a good amount of thought put into the design process. I remember reading about, but not participating in, the design of Pathfinder. I remember people talking about downloading the game, trying it and giving feedback. Wizards of the Coast is using this model for D&D Next, one of the many things they gleaned from Pathfinder.

The first thing I noticed about Pathfinder is that the base classes are a lot more ‘sexy’ for lack of a better term. There is more incentive to stay with one particular class than in 3.5, which was more based around the ‘flavor text’ that were prestige classes. To go along with better class features we have a better array of skills and a significantly increase amount of feats and customization options. You can take options for your class early on that modifies the gameplay of the base class without breaking it, so who needs prestige classes?

The biggest thing I see moving from 4th Edition to Pathfinder is the smiliarities I see between the two. Clerics no longer have to memorize so many healing spells, they have the ability to channel energy, just like in 4th Edition. Wizards get to use cantrips and clerics get to use orisons over and over again. Those are just a few examples. All-in-all I must say I think I like Pathfinder better than I like any Dungeons and Dragons system in, or out of, print. Don’t get me wrong, every edition of D&D has a place in my heart. I started with 1st Edition so many years ago and converted as I could by scraping together as much money as I could. But now that I have tried Pathfinder I wonder why I didn’t do it sooner and why would I need any other system? Now how to find the money to buy more Pathfinder books?

~ by lordnightwinter on November 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
