It’s all in the system…

I have a large collection of pen and paper RPGs. Ranging from the old days of Dungeons and Dragons 1st edition to Dark Conspiracy to the more modern RPGs such as Outbreak: Undead and D&D 4e. I am playtesting D&D Next as a matter of fact and when it comes out I will purchase that too. Truth be known though I have actually played roughly 1/2 of them or less mainly because I lack a dedicated gaming group and also because my gaming groups usually consist of people that have a ‘favorite system’. There is a lot of stigma that comes with learning a new system and for the longest time because of that I only bought books that were based on the d20 system, all of my players know the d20 system. Even if you have a player that doesn’t know how it works, Dungeons and Dragons is easy to pick up but hard to master.

Coming from a guy who had most of the rules from 3.0/3.5 memorized I was excited when I saw they were coming out with premium-covered 3.5 books but not so excited when I realized what the price point is. It’s the same with the premium 1st edition books, they’d be nice to have but I can’t afford any of them. So why is Wizards of the Coast reprinting 1st and 3rd edition but not 2nd edition? Interesting question. I wish I knew, I have fond memories of 2nd edition over all of them. My brother learned to play with 2nd edition and I taught him. THAC0? Terrible but great.

All-in-all though I collect lots of RPGs I am first and foremost a die-hard fan of TSR/Wizards of the Coast and Dungeons and Dragons in general. I learned young, my brother and his friends learned young, my daughter will learn young. I have helped spread the word and the love over the years, from my DMing several dedicated players have spawned all buying their own books and starting their own groups. I’m proud of them all. Andy, Randy, Brandon, Janelle, and everyone else I’ve ever gamed with. You’re the ones that make it worth DMing. I should work for Wizards, I’ve been selling their products indirectly for years, why not? It would be my dream job, ah to dream.

~ by lordnightwinter on October 23, 2012.

2 Responses to “It’s all in the system…”

  1. Yeah, I used 2nd edition for years until my gaming group broke up. I saw no point in the continual revision of the system. I always felt they should have put more effort into generic modules like from the Gygax days, or entire world systems like Forgotten Realms.

    • I was happy with 3.0/3.5, the move to 4th edition seemed a little forced but it’s really not that bad.

Leave a Reply

 
