Other Systems

I am no stranger to RPGs. The game shelf  on my solid wood bookcase is sagging, literally. Everything from Dark Conspiracy, Shadowrun, Call of Cthulhu, Cthulhutech, Star Wars, Mutants and Masterminds, Gamma World, D20 Modern, Paranoia, you name it I’ve at least read about it. I’ve even designed a system myself, I never published it but it was a classless RPG.

In my travels I’ve stumbled across a lot of games systems that were horrible and a lot that were great but I’ve never had the chance to contribute to one. Hopefully that will change now, I’ve found one that’s open and in development http://thenexted.com/. I’ve designed races, classes, cultures, whole worlds and more but it’s all been homebrew stuff. Maybe I can finally make a contribution to something bigger?

I’ve already shared my thoughts on making Constitution a more appealing stat and the problem of rolling attributes. Hopefully my brain will work overtime on this. Weem’s post on spells http://www.theweem.com/2012/02/27/typing-out-loud-vancian-2/ is a case of excellent brainstorming. I hope they impliment his idea of Vancian 2.0 into the system before WotC swipes it. I don’t post anything on the Wizards forum for reasons akin to idea stealing. It wouldn’t be so bad if their system were more open.

~ by lordnightwinter on March 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
