D&D Next

The Dungeons and Dragons community out there should be excited. Wizards of the Coast is working on the 5th edition of D&D! Lots of people groan because of the new books and merch required to break into a new version of the game but what makes this edition so special is the community input. WotC is going to let us help them, that can only be a good thing. I have fond memories of every edition, from playing an elf or dwarf (hey that’s your class!) to playing the dreaded Psionicist in 2nd edition and even further than that dealing with MinMaxing in 3.0 and 3.5. Honestly I have been a fanboi in regards to every edition of D&D but of all the editions out there I have to say I liked 3.5 the best but I like the dynamics of 4th Edition. It’s nice to be able to play 2-4 encounters per session without having the characters rest after every battle because the party casters are out of spells. I’ve signed up to test, and hopefully I will be chosen! I can’t wait.

Each edition had its own merits.
1st Edition was very basic and I mean that in a good way. You roll, you pick your role, you play. End of story.
2nd Edition let you have a little more in the way of customization and it felt like more of an achievement when rolled a good encounter.
3rd Edition was customizable, there were more options than you could shake a stick at and that lent to some very interesting character builds.
4th Edition is streamlined and dynamic, it’s easier to play and keep on playing in to the wee hours of the morning.

All in all, as I said, I’m a big D&D fan so I have high hopes for the next iteration of my favorite drug.

~ by lordnightwinter on March 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
