Play-by-Post, a Junkie’s Tale!

So it’s been a while since I’ve been able to step out of my GM role and become a player. Whatever chance I get, I take it. Now that all of my players have moved on to form their own lives and gaming groups (I miss you guys!), it’s even harder to get a game together, let alone play. Sure we can Skype or Google hangout but scheduling is a bitch when one set of friends lives in Germany and the other lives all the way in Oklahoma! Not to mention my friends that live in Minnesota that want to play. You try getting so many people across the board together while simultaneously playing peekaboo with your 18 month old. It’s tough work.

In comes the solution, Play-by-Post games. I am currently in a PbP Pathfinder game called Curse of the Crimson Throne and I’ve started my own PbP game based on the Mouse Guard RPG. Mouse Guard is one of my guilty pleasures, it reminds me of D&D meets the Secret of Nimh but I digress. The solution I’ve found, which isn’t as good as actually playing and rolling dice but it fills a good portion of the gap. Now that I’ve realized a new form of play my mind begins putting pieces of a puzzle together based on everything I know (which isn’t much mind you) and what I’ve discovered.

So that begs the question, who wants the creepy old guy DM to create a play by post forum for us to play in?

Here we are! Theoretical Dungeon!

~ by lordnightwinter on October 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “Play-by-Post, a Junkie’s Tale!”

  1. I’m just impressed you know what the Secret of Nimh is! I tried to make the husband watch it with me once, and he fell asleep. Didn’t even appreciate it. Make sure your kid grows up with that movie, and Rikki Tikki Tavi as well!

    My next post is going to touch on the “I’ve finally hit the age where I’m too old to make the references that I like to make” thing.

    I’ll try the PbP thing (although I don’t totally know what it is), and I’m always down for Skype DnD as well, but I know we’re hard to schedule with. I just had to cancel on Dan’s game this past weekend, and I felt like a terrible person for it. If there’s a way to play without making me lose sleep over guilt (mild exaggeration), I’ll give it a shot.

  2. Surprised? I’m a big kid. Get me on a log flume and I turn into a giggly little fat man. 🙂

    She will definitely be familiar with both of those and more! Do you know Witch’s Night Out? Wind in the Willows? (The cool 1984 cartoon not the claymation). lol

    NEVAR. You are never too old to make references like that. I’m a balding fat man and I make any reference that comes to my head.

    Actually the PbP thing is easy, there is no schedule. It’s a forum set-up. You post your reply and people post theirs, etc. It’s like playing a really slow D&D game via chat or forums. Check out the link I put up there for Curse of the Crimson Throne. My username is LordNIghtwinter and my character is Valaria Coor.

Leave a Reply

 
