3D Gaming

Maybe it’s because I’m a girl who grew up playing with dollhouses and Barbies, but lately I’ve been obsessed with trying to create the perfect game board. When I googled “D&D puzzles” (which eventually led me to create this blog, because I found very little useful info) I stumbled across a link to the Penny Arcade “lights and mirrors” puzzle…ย and although I have no interest in that particular puzzle, I was amazed by their realistic terrain. I had never seen anything like that before.

Now, I don’t make the bookoo dollars the Penny Arcade guys make, so I’ve been looking into doing this on a cheaper budget. I started with the Dungeon Tiles Master Setย (love these), and printing my own visual floor creations (to scale) on my home printer (too much work).

Any player with a few hundred bucks can go to Dwarven Forge, but I’m not spending that amount. A random search led me to this seller on ebay, and his prices are right. What I’m really looking for however, are free walls I can arrange in my own designs. Pre-fabricated buildings may be nice, but I’m sure my players would get sick of fighting in the same temple every game.

There are places where you can buy molds and make your own, but the amount of work involved with that is just SO far beyond the amount of time I have to dedicate to it.

The problem is that I want realistic little walls, and those are where it gets expensive. I have floors! I JUST WANT WALLS. I love my floor tiles, I just need to build up upon them.

In the end, I’ve come up with 3 solutions:

1) I’m going to experiment with making my own paper modelsย for my next game. I’ll let you know how they work out, but they are only a temporary solution. I want realistic & hefty walls. So…

2) On Etsy (only a female would think to search there) I found these walls, they look pretty great and they arrive primed. He/She also sells the painted ones, but I’m crafty so I’m willing to do the painting myself to save a buck or two.

3) I’m also going to play with making my own. I had the idea to use florist’s foam, which is extremely manipulatable. It’s also delicate, so the big question is “how long will it hold up?” It cannot be spray-painted (the propellant will cause the foam to collapse), but a quick layer of acrylic paint will seal it off and protect it. It’s going to be very easy to carve and shape, so I will also post about that when I get it finished. Because I live in the middle of nowhere, I’m going to have to order the foam online.

This last one is the solution I am MOST excited about, and I think almost anyone with a butter knife and a little paint could do it. More on that in the future!

(I do not know or endorse any of these sellers, just passing along the info)

~ by DM's-R-Us on October 22, 2011.

9 Responses to “3D Gaming”

  1. I too have been looking in to this and I have decided to try the plaster and silicone mold way. I am going to get them from hirstarts.com. If I end up liking it maybe I’ll make you a set. ๐Ÿ™‚

    First is to get the cash to buy the molds. Lol

    • Yeah, that’s what I heard- that long term it’s more cost effective, but it takes a big investment in the beginning. I didn’t even consider it because it’s just too involved.

      • There are sites out there that sell the pieces and even pre-made rooms. I know you touched on that but dwarven forge would be the same ‘temple fight’ over and over too. Most players don’t mind though.

  2. Dwarven forge has “pieces” you can buy and configure in your own way, I recognized a bunch of them from the Penny Arcade game. But yes, they also have the pre-made buildings/rooms as well. I’m guessing that the pre-made terrain is more for warhammer and the configurable rooms are more for DnD, but I’m sure you can make either work for both games.

    • You absolutely can. The reason I have decided to go with creating my own tiles, though, is because I can re-use those molds over and over again to create room after room, corridor after corridor. Your imagination is the only thing stopping you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. This is late, I know, but if you are thinking about paper scenery be sure to check out Fat Dragon games. Their stuff looks great.

Leave a Reply

 
